The difference with 9th graders.

Man. I was so excited to see how quickly my seniors ran with Edmodo yesterday, but my frosh brought me back down to earth. They are just so much younger. I should have taken the advice I saw on the Edmodo blog and given them all “read only” status to start. With the ability to post a note to the whole class, many students couldn’t resist merely typing the word “poooooooooooop” over and over again. Sigh.

It is amazing, though, to think of all that growth and maturity that happens in these three short years, for most kids. And that, then, hammers home the sometimes-crushing feeling of responsibility to make sure that said growth really does happen, and that our students grow in a positive direction.

Also, I have a lot of 9th graders who don’t have computers or internet at home, so I won’t be able to make online homework the only option. That’s okay, I think. I’m afraid, though, of those students feeling left out when we might look at work other students have done online (which is so much easier to look at as a class with the projector).

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Andrew on September 4, 2011 - 2:42 pm

    I wonder if you can somehow harness the scatological interests of these kids? I occasionally get some flack for it, but I often dive right into this stuff with my eighth graders. There are so many fabulous examples of potty-humor from real literature. Last year, for example, we read the Sedaris essay, “Big Boy,” about being stuck in a bathroom with an un-flushably huge poop. Hysterical no matter how old you are, and I think it was a real eye-opener for the kids to see that grown-ups write about this stuff and think it’s funny. When it was no longer off-limits, they were much less obsessed with just saying the words and giggling.

  2. #2 by yoni on September 6, 2011 - 12:57 pm

    Great idea. And now I know whom to look for when I need advice diving into scatological interest.

Your thoughts?

